Credentialed Program


In the Credentialed Program Newlife clinic supervisors will serve as the preceptors providing oversight for all clinical work and didactic education. Upon completion of all requirements, students qualify for midwife licensure and certification.

Academic Modules for the Credentialed Program includes modules such as:

  • General Midwifery Principles
  • Basic Anatomy and Physiology
  • Basic and Advanced Antepartum care
  • Basic and Advanced Postpartum care
  • Basic and Advanced Intrapartum care
  • Basic and Advanced Newborn care
  • Well Woman care
  • Family Planning
  • Midwifery Herbs and Pharmacology
  • Intravenous Therapy
  • Neonatal Resuscitation
  • Microbiology
  • Pregnancy Education
  • Fetal Development
  • Nutrition
  • Lactation
  • Midwifery Ethics
  • Culturally Competent Midwifery care
  • Genetic Screening
  • Statistics
  • Microbiology

Graduation Requirements

Students must complete all required academic course work and pass all exams with a score of 80 or higher.
Newlife has chosen to use the NARM clinical standards for competency since they reflect the US standard requirements for midwifery education.

Clinical Requirements

Newlife has chosen to mirror our clinical requirements to those established by NARM. While at Newlife, students will be able to obtain the following clinical requirements;

Births as an Observer:
10 births in any setting
Clinicals as Assistant under Supervision:
20 births, 25 prenatals, 20 newborn exams, 10 postpartum visits as an assistant under the supervision of a qualified preceptor.
Clinicals as Primary under Supervision:
25 births, 75 prenatals (including 20 initial prenatals), 20 newborn exams, and 40 postpartum exams as a primary midwife under supervision.
Continuity of Care:
5 require full Continuity of Care and 10 more births which require at least one prenatal under supervision.
Duration of Clinical Experience:
Minimal time frames for clinical education must span at least two years.
ADDITIONAL experience students need to obtain in an alternate setting outside of Newlife;
  • 10 primary births under supervision in the US or Canada (after completion at Newlife).
  • 2 planned hospital births (in any capacity, doula, assistant, observer, etc.). This may be done before enrolling at Newlife or after completion.
  • 5 home births in any capacity (may be included in the 10 primary births listed above).

National Midwifery Standards

midwifery standards

We advise all interested applicants to familiarize themselves with the policies and guidelines of the respective organizations overseeing and setting standards for midwifery education and licensing.

These include the Midwives Alliance of North America (MANA) which has developed a list of core competencies for entry-level midwives and the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) which sets the standards for competency-based CPM credentials.

Each applicant should also familiarize herself with the requirements related to the state/province in which she desires to practice after graduation.